Monthly Archives: July 2011

Fashion Fundraiser returns to East County

The very successful Fashion Rocks the East County, which raised money for scholarships for the Miss La Mesa and Miss Santee Pageants the past two years, is back and bigger than ever. This year the event, which takes place on Sunday, August 14, has a new name – Rockin’ SD County Fashion – and new partner pageants. But the goal is the same – to provide money so local winners can continue their education. Last year the event raised $3200 and has a goal of exceeding $5000 this time around. Joining the Miss La Mesa and Miss Santee Pageants are the Miss San Diego, Miss Greater San Diego, and Miss San Diego Cities Pageants. Alexandra Kuty, an organizer of the La Mesa, Santee and San Diego Cities competitions, expects the increased reach of the additional pageants will help bring in more donations, participants, and attendees. The event takes place in the La Mesa Community Services Arbor Room beginning at 6:00 p.m.

The first Fashion Rocks the East show took place in 2009 and was the brainchild of then-Miss Santee Sierra Billock, who wanted to help future winners to have the same opportunities she had. Miss Billock continues to be involved in the organization of the shows, in addition to pursuing her career in business marketing and running for additional titles. Also heavily involved in the project is Troy Hartpence, who is currently director of the Miss Santee Pageant and helps with the La Mesa and Miss San Diego Cities events as well. “All of the proceeds will go back into giving the 2012 contestants and titleholders scholarship money to further their education,” explains Ms. Hartpence. Katie Martin, who received a $1000 scholarship as Miss La Mesa this year, says of the pageants, “It’s a wonderful platform to promote causes that are important to you and with the help of our fundraisers it’s also a great way to award the titleholders with much needed funds for education.

This year Old Navy (Santee) and Be Beauty Boutique (Little Italy) have already confirmed their participation in the show, with past and present titleholders modeling some of their offerings. In the past Act II, PreVue, and Sara’s Selections have also provided fashions for the show. As in the past, the Santee-based band Ramshackle will provide musical entertainment and accompaniment to the event. The show is open to the public, with tickets $10 in advance or $20 at the door, and includes a silent auction and dessert reception in addition to the fashion show. The show is looking for additional donations for the silent auction, and any other assistance or support is welcome. For more information, to donate items for the silent auction, or to purchase tickets contact Alexandra Kuty at 619-518-2777 or email at MissSDCitiesPageant@yahoo.com.

Read the stories on previous Fashion Rocks the East events:

2010

2009


			
Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Community, Entertainment

Santee’s Town Center Park West in the running for major grant

Santee’s Town Center Community Park West is competing with other parks around the country for a grant from Coca-Cola’s Live Positively project. The top vote getter in the competition will receive a $100,000 grant, with second place getting $50,000 and third place earning $25,000. Currently TCCP is in 20th place with just over 24,000 votes; the third place park, Cunningham Park in Thurmont, MD, has over 270,000 votes. So, as you can see, Santee needs to get out and vote in order to bring our park up in the standings. There are three ways to cast votes for our park: 1) go online to LivePositively.com and vote for Town Center Community Park in Santee; 2) upload a picture from the park, worth 5 votes; 3) visit the park and use the Facebook Places logon to check in, again for 5 votes. You will need to register for any of the options, and for the Facebook vote you will need to allow Live Positively to access your account (just like you do for Farmville and all those other applications you use).

For more information about the program, you can visit Live Positively or check out the story on Santee Patch. Now, let’s all get out there and remember the Chicago method – vote early and often!

Leave a comment

Filed under Community

Manzanita Brewing Company to celebrate first anniversary

Santee’s own brewery, Manzanita Brewing Company, will celebrate its first anniversary on Saturday, July 16, starting at 1:00. It will be a day of beer, food, beer, and music. Oh, did I mention beer? On tap for the day will be some of their best specialty brews, including Chaotic, Wee Rock, Pivotal Porter, and Hot Blonde. Also on the list are regulars Riverwalk Blonde, Rustic Horizon Red, Gillespie Brown Ale, and their IPA. Of course, a party is no good without food, even if the focus is on beer. Manzanita has invited Doggos Gus Mexican gourmet hot dogs, Chop Soo-ey pork-centric delights, and Devilicious with “food so good it’s bad.”

Finally, a great party needs great music, and there will be more than enough on the list. Esjay Jones, the South African lead singer from the group Stealing Love Jones and a talented solo act, will bring her raw, emotional sound to the party. I saw Ms. Jones at a charity show in Hillcrest some months ago and was very impressed. Just try to ignore her when she gets going. The Lynyrd Skynyrd tribute band Skynyrd’s Innyrrds, which takes its name from the main group’s 1989 greatest hits album, will bring some great rock music, as will Santee’s own Ramshackle. Finally, the group Trailer Park Allstar will perform and release a new CD at the event.

Manzanita Brewing Company is located at 9962 Prospect Street, just a short distance east of Cuyamaca Street. Look for them on the north side of the road. You can check out the story on their Grand Opening last year.

2 Comments

Filed under Business, Community

Santee Businesses on 10News A-List

It is time again to vote for the top businesses in San Diego on the 10News A-List. This year there are over three dozen Santee area businesses on the list in a wide variety of categories. In some categories there are two local businesses to choose from, but it is set up so you can vote for a business in a different category than it is listed in. However, and this is important, once you have voted in a category you cannot vote in it again – at least not under the same account. My suggestion is that you review all of the businesses in the category before you vote. That way, if you have two favorites and one can also fit in another category, you can vote that one in the separate category first, then your choice for the listed category. Confusing? Only a little.  (For example, both The Coffee Corner and Frubble are listed in Best Coffee Shop, but Frubble is not listed in Best Tea House, although that is the category it won last year. Solution, vote for Frubble for Best Tea House first, then go back and vote for The Coffee Corner for Best Coffee Shop.)

Below is a list of all the Santee area business I could find in the 10News A-List competition, along with a direct link to the business. If you find others, feel free to leave a message and I will try to update.

10 News A-List

Beauty

Best Day Spa:

Simply Spa (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/simply-spa/biz/147008?for=beauty%2fday-spa)

Best Hair Color:

hautePINKstudio (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/hautepinkstudio/biz/110037?for=beauty%2fhair-color)

Best Manicure and Pedicure:

Lux Nails (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/lux-nail/biz/616574?for=beauty%2fmanicure-and-pedicure)

Best Massage:

Estasi Massage Therapy (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/estasi-massage-therapy/biz/62100?for=beauty%2fmassage)

Best Medical Spa:

Riverview MD Spa (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/riverview-md-spa/biz/118901?for=beauty%2fmedical-spa)

Best Tanning:

Hollywood Tans (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/hollywood-tans/biz/115197?for=beauty%2ftanning)

Best Waxing:

Skyn (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/skyn/biz/120696?for=beauty%2fwaxing)

Cheap Eats

Best Sandwich:

Sandwich Bags (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/the-sandwich-bags/biz/57694)

Best Breakfast:

Jimmy’s Family Restaurant (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/jimmy-s-family-restaurant/biz/616578?for=cheap-eats%2fbreakfast)

Omelette Factory (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/omelette-factory/biz/53970?for=cheap-eats%2fbreakfast)

Best Burger:

Annie’s Fine Burger (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/annies-fine-burger/biz/615888?for=cheap-eats%2fburger)

Fashion

Best Children’s Clothing:

Bears, Buddies, & Toys (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/bears-buddies-and-toys/biz/369458?for=fashion%2fchildren-s-clothing)

Great Eats

Best Mexican:

Margaritas Fine Mexican Food (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/margaritas-fine-mexican-food/biz/616585?for=great-meals%2fmexican)

Best New American:

Michael’s Grill (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/michael-s-grill/biz/59310?for=great-meals%2fnew-american)

Best Steakhouse:

Pinnacle Peak (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/pinnacle-peak-steakhouse/biz/56553?for=great-meals%2fsteakhouse)

Sushi:

Domo Sushi (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/domo-sushi/biz/162693?for=great-meals%2fsushi)

Health & Fitness

Best Golf Course:

Carlton Oaks (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/carlton-oaks/biz/136554?for=health-and-fitness%2fgolf-course)

Best Martial Arts:

Infinity Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/infinity-brazilian-jiu-jitsu/biz/574374?for=health-and-fitness%2fmartial-arts)

Schu-Fu International Martial Arts (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/schu-fu-international-martial-arts/biz/57502?for=health-and-fitness%2fmartial-arts)

Nightlife

Best Live Music:

Second Wind (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/second-wind/biz/60287?for=nightlife%2flive-music-venue)

Best Sports Bar:

Oaks Bar & Grill (Carlton Oaks CC) (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/oaks-bar-and-grill/biz/570414?for=nightlife%2fsports-bar)

Pets

Best Boarding:

Furry Friends Resort (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/furry-friends-resort/biz/480074?for=pets%2fboarding)

Best Grooming:

Aloha Grooming (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/aloha-pet-grooming/biz/616272?for=pets%2fgrooming)

Shopping

Best Arts & Crafts:

Pause and Play Beads (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/pause-and-play-beads/biz/582832?for=shopping%2farts-and-crafts)

Scrappin’ Attack (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/scrappin-attack/biz/57899?for=shopping%2farts-and-crafts)

Best Baby Boutique:

Sophie Crew Photography (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/sophie-crew-photography/biz/570032?for=shopping%2fbaby-boutique)

Best Furniture:

Purewood Unfinished Furniture (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/purewood-unfinished-furniture/biz/616665?for=shopping%2ffurniture)

Specialty Food

Best Bakery:

Baklava King LLC (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/baklava-king-llc/biz/133922?for=specialty-food-and-drink%2fbakery)

Eccentric International Chefs (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/eccentric-international-chefs/biz/61298?for=specialty-food-and-drink%2fbakery)

Best Coffee Shop:

Frubble (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/frubble/biz/285294?for=specialty-food-and-drink%2fcoffee-shop)

The Coffee Corner (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/the-coffee-corner/biz/572672?for=specialty-food-and-drink%2fcoffee-shop)

Weddings

Best Catering:

Da Kine’s Hawaiian Catering (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/da-kine-s-hawaiian-caterings/biz/302488?for=weddings%2fcaterer)

Best DJ:

Magic Mike’s DJ Services (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/magic-mike-s-dj-services/biz/432972?for=weddings%2fdj),

Sunset Sound Productions (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/sunset-sound-productions/biz/56619?for=weddings%2fdj)

The Creative Music DJ (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/the-creative-music-dj/biz/286774) (FYI, Dennis DJDennis Jones is a Santee resident but uses a San Diego business address)

Best Invitations:

Durante’s Calligraphy Styles (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/durante-s-calligraphy-styles/biz/158487?for=weddings%2finvitations)

Photo Flair Designs (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/photo-flair-designs/biz/370926?for=weddings%2finvitations)

Best Photographer:

Cosmic Frogs Photography (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/cosmic-frogs-photography/biz/587938?for=weddings%2fphotographer),

Hugo Benson Photography (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/hugo-benson-photography/biz/122741?for=weddings%2fphotographer)

Best Wedding Planner:

Busy Bride Consulting (http://kgtv.cityvoter.com/busy-bride-consulting/biz/61810?for=weddings%2fwedding-planner)

2 Comments

Filed under Business

Santee Salutes July 4th

On Monday Santee once again salutes our Nation’s independence with the annual Santee Salutes July 4th celebration.  The event, which takes place at Town Center Community Park West, begins at 3:30 p.m. and lasts until 9:30 p.m. and includes music, games, and fireworks. Several local restaurants and groups will have booths set up with a variety of foods and treats. A special ceremony will include a color guard from one of Santee’s adopted Marine units.

The fun begins with music by the Danielle Tucker Band from 3:30-6:00 p.m. playing contemporary country tunes. A Kid’s Zone will feature carnival rides, inflatables, and games for the young revelers at minimal cost. The nearby Aquatic Center facility will be closed for the day, but the pool will be open from 1:00-3:00 p.m. for a little relief from the expected high temperatures. The ceremony honoring Independence Day begins at 6:00 p.m. and will include the color guard and patriotic songs by young singers from Singing Solo. After the ceremony the Mighty Untouchables take the stage with music ranging from Motown to contemporary Top 40 Hits. The celebration ends with a fireworks display beginning at 9:00 p.m. Food will be available until the end of the day and will include offerings from Michael’s Grill, Pat and Oscars, Eccentric International Chefs and Bakery, and Elegant Buffet.  Organizations on hand with food will include SPARC (Santee Parks and Recreation Committee), Santee Ravens Football and Cheer, and the Teen Center.

If you plan to attend, be aware that blankets and coolers are welcome, and shades are allowed in certain areas until the fireworks begin. However, glass containers and barbecues are not allowed and pets must be on a leash at all times. Also be aware that parking on site is severely limited and it is recommended that you use one of the off-site locations, either the Costco parking lot or the Cameron Family YMCA, or the Edgmoor Hospital site for limited RV parking. There will be shuttle service between the outlying lots and the event. For more details, visit the Santee Salutes July 4th page on the City of Santee website.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community, Entertainment