New CD Release Party


This evening Pathways Community Church in Santee was the site of the CD release party for Christian singer Mary James’ new album “Beautiful Savior.”  I won’t say my wife actually dragged me there, but it wasn’t at the top of my “to do” list.  However, I will say that I was glad I went.  I’m not usually a big fan of Christian music, not because of the music or the message but more because of what often feels like a heavy-handed approach that turns me off.  Even though the evening did include her sharing of her personal testimonial, what caught me was the human depth of several of her songs.  My only regret was that I wasn’t thinking like a blogger/community reporter and left my camera at home.

A little about Mary James.  Mary is a self-described country-rock style singer who was classically trained, but decided she didn’t want to go the opera route.  During the concert she talked a bit about her life, born to a teenage mother, adopted by a busy pastor who had little time for his family and an alcoholic mother who died of cancer when Mary was 13.  After years of running away from her past and trying to find something to hold on to, her road finally led her back to religion.  She has since dedicated herself to sharing her faith through her music.

Below are some links, including Mary’s website, her MySpace page, and a few YouTube postings of her singing.  If you enjoy her music, I encourage you to order one or more of her CDs.  I think you will enjoy them.

Mary James – Home Page

Mary James – MySpace Page

Mary James – ICM Showcase (YouTube)

Mary James – Shadow Mountain Church 2007 (YouTube)

Mary James – Shadow Mountain Church 2005 (YouTube)

If you watch the ICM and 2007 videos you will see some of her family.  The left-handed acoustic guitar player is her husband and the lovely young backup singer is her daughter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community

Leave a Reply

