Las Colinas Debate


If you have been to any Chamber or city-sponsored event recently, you’ve probably seen the information booth about the possible expansion of Las Colinas, the women’s jail located here in Santee.  You probably also are aware of the opposition by the city, chamber, and ordinary citizens to this possible expansion.  Well, I decided that it was about time for me to hop onto the discussion wagon, but first I want to know what I’m talking about.  So, I have downloaded the Environmental Impact Report as well as other information and reports on Las Colinas.  I plan to take a little time to review, and then I will toss my 2 cents worth in.  Since the County Board of Supervisors recently decided to delay taking action, I have a bit of time to bring myself up to speed on the topic.  I will return soon with my take on the expansion controversy.

Also coming soon will be a series of blogs on the upcoming elections.  No, I’m not going to get into the Obama-McCain discussion.  But I will be looking again at candidates for Congress, as well as for Santee City Council.  Look for some posts and interviews coming in the next few weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community, Politics

Leave a Reply

