Blowing Out Summer


The 80Z All Stars shook Santee at the last Summer Concert of 2008
The 80Z All Stars shook Santee at the last Summer Concert of 2008

Thursday, August 28, marked the end of another Santee Summer Concert Series, and the 80Z All Stars rocked the house big time.

The 80z All Stars are a kick-ass band (can I say that…wait, this is my blog, so I can say “kick-ass” if I want to)…Anyway, the 80z All Stars are a kick-ass band that rocks with the best of them.  Playing everything from AC/DC to Whitesnake, from “Your Love” to “1999” they more than satisfied the crowd’s need for high-energy music from the era of spandex and big hair.  If you didn’t have the urge to at least tap your feet, if not get up on them and “Jump” – well, then there’s no hope for you.  And if you weren’t exhausted just watching them jump, bounce, and rock, you’re in better shape than I am.

Before I go on about the concert itself, I want to publicly thank the major sponsors of the Summer Concert Series: Ryan Companies, California Coast Credit Union, MTS, Target, Cox Communication, and Daphne’s Greek Cafe.  Check these companies out, and if you get the chance why not tell them “Thanks” for helping bring another great summer of music to Santee

Since this was the last summer concert, a large and boisterous crowd had gathered to listen, dance, and have fun.  It was also a big night for people watchers, with plenty of 80s survivors and their kids – not to mention a good supply of the grandparents as well.  It just goes to show you, fun music has no boundaries.

I’ve had a lot of fun going to, photographing, and blogging about these concerts, and I just wish I had been able to get to the earlier ones.  I certainly hope that some of you have had fun reading them.  I will be putting up a page with more of the pictures from the concerts I was able to attend.  I will also be writing a post about the canine music lovers of Santee.  If you have anything else you would like me to write about, please let me know and I’ll see what I can do.

Maria Maes (Miss Santee Teen 4th Runner Up), Cara Henson (Miss Santee Teen 3rd Runner Up), and Emily Zobel (Miss Congeniality)

L-R: Maria Maes (Miss Santee Teen 4th Runner Up), Cara Henson (Miss Santee Teen 3rd Runner Up), and Emily Zobel (Miss Congeniality)

The 80z All Stars Are…

Nigel – Lead Vocals

Devo Cell – Bass and Vocals

Skid Joe – Lead Guitar and Vocals

Karate Kid – Drums

The 80z All Stars catch some BIG Air
The 80z All Stars catch some BIG Air

Look, up in the sky.  It’s a bird! It’s a plane!  It’s…..Nigel?

1 Comment

Filed under Community

One response to “Blowing Out Summer

  1. Pingback: Hundreds Enjoy Santee Summer Concert Series « Scouting Santee

Leave a Reply

