On Food Patrol – Domo Sushi Bar & Grill


“If you knew Sushi, like I know Sushi, oh, oh, oh what a dish…”

Okay, now that I have that out of my system, on to the story.  A few weeks ago I was at the Vons on Mission Gorge Road, and I realized that I hadn’t had lunch yet.  So, instead of buying something at the grocery store, I decided to check out Domo Sushi, which opened up right next door a few weeks before.  If you’re not sure about the location, it was the Papa Murphy’s Take and Bake pizza place for a while.  Now, I’m not a sushi connoisseur, but I do like sushi and I’m always willing to try new places.  Now, I know some people might not put “sushi” and “Santee” together, but I think this place is on to something.  It was late lunch time, but the place was packed.  Fortunately for me they do take-out, so that’s what I elected to do.

I ordered their Domo Sampler, a combination of tuna, salmon, yellowtail, albacore, surf clam, shrimp, and shrimp tempura roll.  As i waited for my order I checked out the goings on in the restaurant.  I was very impressed by the itamae (the sushi chef) and his assistant.  It was clear they not only knew what they were doing but enjoyed the process.  And every plate they sent out was a work of art in presentation.  I never really paid much attention to how food was “plated” until my daughter got me started watching Iron Chef on the Food Network.  Then when my food arrived, I found it just as artfully presented as the in-house servings (as you can see above).

I’m looking forward to going back to eat at the restaurant so I can enjoy the full experience.  If you’ve never eaten at a real sushi bar/restaurant, I came across an interesting and helpful site: Sushi Eating HOWTO.  By the way, “domo” in Japanese means “thank you,” and “arigato” is “very much.”  So I want to say “Domo Arigato” to the owners for opening this wonderful restaurant in Santee.

Leave a comment

Filed under On Food Patrol

Leave a Reply

