Go Orange for the ASPCA


I’ve been away for a few days with family issues, but I’m here now and ready to get back to blogging.

I just received an e-mail (Wednesday, April 9) from an advocacy group telling me that April 10 is “Go Orange for ASPCA Day” to honor the 142nd anniversary of the founding of the ASPCA.  My first thought was, “why didn’t they send this out a bit sooner?”  It would have been nice to know far enough in advance to really do something to celebrate this day, like coordinate something with my daughter’s school.  But the best I can do is post this little bit in my blog and see who reads it.

The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals was founded in 1866 as the first humane organization in the Western Hemisphere.  The Society’s goal is to “work toward the day in which no animal will live in pain or fear.”  If you’ve ever watched any of the “Animal Cops” shows on Animal Planet, you know that they still have a lot of work ahead of them.

“Go Orange for the ASPCA” calls on individuals, organizations, communities, etc., to wear orange, the Society’s color, on April 10.  I personally don’t have any orange (I guess I’m not an autumn), so instead I’m going to feature my orange-ish dogs as my contribution to the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

