Supporting a Congressional Candidate


Recently I have been approached about throwing my support behind candidates for the 52nd District, so I thought I might blog about what I personally am looking for in a candidate.  Then if anyone can fill the bill, I will gladly support that person.

First of all, I am a relatively moderate person, although I do have some ideals that lean more to the right and others more to the left.  I believe that people need to be taught to take responsibility for their own actions.  I am opposed to government trying to “fix” all of the problems of society when some of the people won’t try to fix their own problems.  It frustrates me when I hear people talking about how they are “owed” this or that for some reason.  We “owe” ourselves the best effort we can give, but no one “owes” us anything else.  So, I am looking for a candidate who believes in showing people how to help themselves, giving them support, and letting them move ahead without putting roadblocks in the way.

 On the other hand, I don’t think that government should turn its back on anyone who needs some extra help to get back on their feet, although it does not have to be the government that helps them.  What I mean is, let’s not get so caught up in semantics that we put those roadblocks up in the way of groups or individuals who are trying to help people get a new start.

The environment is one area where I tend to lean more to the left.  Not so much that I agree that all development is bad, but enough that I see a greater need for protecting our natural heritage sometimes as opposed to unrestricted or poorly regulated exploitation.  One example – I believe that our National Parks and Refuges need to be protected from activities that are completely incompatible, such as drilling for oil, clear-cut logging, or mining.  The candidate I support is going to have to be able to stand up to some of these interests and say “No more.”  But, the candidate also has to be able to stand up to some of the over-the-top environmental groups and tell them the same thing.  In short, I want someone who will try for an overall balance between human needs and the environment.

I guess what I’m saying is that I’m looking for someone who is not locked in to one camp or another on any particular issues.  Someone, dare I say it, who will think for himself/herself.  So now you know what I’m looking for – anyone out there interested in applying?

2 Comments

Filed under Community, Politics

2 responses to “Supporting a Congressional Candidate

  1. You obviously aren’t looking hard enough. Try calling Mike Lumpkin’s office at 619-449-2496. He’ll be happy to speak with you.

  2. I would say this. We must do what is best for America. National Security must be foremost but balanced with the preservation of our beautiful country. We have proved our ability to drill for oil without destroying the environment. We have the technology and the experience. We can not sacrifice one for the other but can, with care, maintain both.

Leave a Reply

